State Portal Entity Contacts

Alabama

Timothy Vick
Director of Operations and Fiscal Services
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
P.O. Box 302000
Montgomery, AL 36130
334.353.9153
tim.vick@ache.alabama.gov

State Website http://www.ache.alabama.gov/Content/SARA/AlaPortal.aspx

Alaska

Kierke Kussart
Program Coordinator Institutional Authorization
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, AK 99811-0505
907.465.6741
kierke.kussart@alaska.gov

Arizona

Lanna Dueck

Executive Director

Arizona SARA Council
2323 W. 14th St.
Tempe, AZ 85281
480.517.8226 

ldueck.azsara@riosalado.edu

State website: http://azsara.arizona.edu/

Arkansas

Alana Boles
Program Director for Private Career and Out-of-State Education
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
423 Main St., Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
501.371.2060
alana.boles@adhe.edu

State Website http://www.adhe.edu/institutions/academic-affairs/sara/

Colorado

Heather Delange
Academic Policy Officer
Department of Higher Education
1600 Broadway, Suite 2200
Denver, CO 80202
303.862.3005
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

Connecticut

Sean Seepersad, PhD
Academic Affairs and Student Services
Office of Higher Education
State of Connecticut
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 510
Hartford, CT 06103-1841
860.947.1837
SSeepersad@ctohe.org
State Website: http://www.ctohe.org/SARA/Default.shtml

Delaware

Nick A. Buono

Education Specialist

Delaware Office of Higher Ed

Delaware Department of Education

The Townsend Building

401 Federal Street, Suite 2

Dover, DE 19901

302.735.4193 

nicholas.buono@doe.k12.de.us

State Website http://www.doe.k12.de.us/sara

District of Columbia

Angela H. Lee
Executive Director
Higher Education Licensure Commission
Postsecondary Education
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
1050 First St. NE, 5th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20002
202.724.2095
Angela.Lee@dc.gov

State Website http://osse.dc.gov/service/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

Florida

Morgan Champion

Director, Postsecondary Reciprocal Distance Education
Commission for Independent Education
325 W. Gaines Street, Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
850.245.3212
morgan.champion@fldoe.org

State Website http://www.flsara.org/

Georgia

Patricia “Pat” Neri
GA-SARA Coordinator
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3235
www.gnpec.georgia.gov

State Website www.gnpec.georgia.gov/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

Hawaii

Bobbi Lum-Mew

Program Administrator

Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 541

Honolulu, HI 96809

808.586.7327

hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

State Website http://cca.hawaii.gov/hpeap/sara/

Idaho

Valerie Fenske
Idaho Private Colleges & Proprietary Schools Coordinator
Idaho State Board of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
208.332.1587
valerie.fenske@osbe.idaho.gov

Illinois

Nkechi Onwuameze, PhD
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs
Illinois SARA Coordinator
Illinois Board of Higher Education
1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377
217.557.7382
sara@ibhe.org

Indiana

Ross Miller
Director of State Authorization and Reciprocity
Indiana Commission for Higher Education/
Indiana Board for Proprietary Education
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN 46204-4206
317.232.1033
rmiller@che.in.gov
Website: www.in.gov/bpe

Iowa

Lisa Pundt
Compliance Officer        
Iowa College Aid
430 E. Grand Avenue, Floor 3
Des Moines, IA 50309
515.725.3426 | fax: 515.725.3401
lisa.pundt@iowa.gov

Kansas

Jennifer Armour
Associate Director
Academic Affairs
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
785.430.4288
jarmour@ksbor.org 

Kentucky

Sarah Levy
Director of Postsecondary Licensing
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, KY 40601
502.573.1555
sarah.levy@ky.gov

State Website http://cpe.ky.gov/campuses/sararequest.html

Louisiana

LeAnn Detillier
Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration
Louisiana Board of Regents
1201 N. Third Street, Suite 6-200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225.342.4253

leann.detillier@la.gov

State Website http://www.regents.la.gov/subhome/institutional-licensure

Maine

Angel Loredo

Higher Education Specialist

Department of Higher Education

23 State House Station

Augusta, Maine 04333-0023

207.624.6846

angel.loredo@maine.gov

Maryland

Michael J. Kiphart

Director of Academic Affairs

Maryland Higher Education Commission

6 N. Liberty Street, 10th Floor

Baltimore, Maryland 21201

410.767.3268

michael.kiphart@maryland.gov

State Website http://mhec.maryland.gov/institutions_training/Pages/acadaff/sara.aspx

Massachusetts

Alex Nally
SARA Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
Boston, MA 02108
617.994.6910
SARAInquiries@dhe.mass.edu

State website: www.mass.edu/sara

Michigan

James R. Farhat, Specialist

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau

Licensing Division

PO Box 30018

Lansing, MI 48909

517.241.9221

517.373.2162 fax

farhatj@michigan.gov

 

Marshall Ogan
Manager

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau

Schools & Licensing Section

P.O. Box 30018

Lansing, MI 48909

517.241.9966

OganM@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Betsy Talbot
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3965
Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

 

Kate McCartan
Institutional Monitoring Specialist
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108

651.259.3912

kate.mccartan@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
601.432.6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu

State Website http://www.mississippi.edu/mcca/sara.asp

Missouri

Leroy Wade
Assistant Commissioner
Missouri Department of Higher Education
205 Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469
573.751.2361
leroy.wade@dhe.mo.gov

Montana

Joe Thiel

Director of Academic Policy and Research

Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education

Montana University System

P.O. Box 203201

Helena, MT 59620-3201

406.422.8455

jthiel@montana.edu

Nebraska

Kathleen L. Fimple, Ph.D.
Academic Programs Officer
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 95005
Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
402.471.0030
Kathleen.Fimple@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Allison Combs
Vice Chancellor for Academic & Director of Public Policy
Nevada System of Higher Education
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, NV 89512
775.784.4901 x 3442
allison_combs@nshe.nevada.edu

State Website https://nshe.nevada.edu/administration/academics-student-affairs/sara/

New Hampshire

Michael D. Seidel
Director of the Division of Higher Education
Higher Education Commission
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3494
michael.seidel@doe.nh.gov
 

Institution Inquires:
Patricia Edes
Program Specialist IV
New Hampshire Department of Education
603.271.0256
patricia.edes@doe.nh.gov

New Jersey

Eric Taylor, Esq.

Director, Office of Licensure

New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education

20 W. State St., Floor 4

P.O. Box 542

Trenton, NJ 08625

609.984.3738

eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

New Mexico

Alicia Armijo

SARA Coordinator

New Mexico Higher Education Department

2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4

Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100

505.476.8411

alicia.armijo@state.nm.us

 

Jeneva LiRosi

Deputy Cabinet Secretary and General Counsel

New Mexico Higher Education Department

2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4

Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100

505.476.8402

Jeneva.LiRosi@state.nm.us

New York

Owen Donovan, PhD

Supervisor, Higher Education Programs

New York State Education Department

89 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12234

518.474.1551

IHEauthorize@nysed.gov

North Carolina

Terrence R. Scarborough, M.P.A.

Director of SARA North Carolina

North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority

P.O. Box 14103

Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

919.248.4660

terrence@saranc.org

State Website www.saranc.org

 

North Dakota

Cheryl Thompson
Outreach Manager
Communication | Training | State Authorization Coordinator
Core Technology Services
North Dakota University System
2000 44th Street SW, Suite 301
Fargo, ND 58103
701.239.6676
cheryl.thompson@ndus.edu

Ohio

Matt Exline
Assistant Director of Program Approval Operations
Ohio Department of Higher Education
25 South Front Street
Columbus, OH  43215
614.728.3095

mexline@highered.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Daniel Archer
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9142
darcher@osrhe.edu

State Website http://www.okhighered.org/admin-fac/sara/

Oregon

Sean Pollack
Program Administrator
Higher Education Coordinating Commission
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310
503.947.5925
sean.pollack@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Gina Wetten
Higher Education Associate II
Department of Education
Division of Higher and Career Education
333 Market Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17126
717.265.7723
giwetten@pa.gov

State Website http://www.education.pa.gov/Postsecondary-Adult/College%20and%20Career%20Education/Pages/State-Authorization-Reciprocity-Agreement-%28SARA%29.aspx#tab-1

Puerto Rico

David Baez 
Acting Director, Education Support Programs
Puerto Rico Council on Education
P.O. Box 19900
San Juan, P.R. 00919-1900
787.641.7100 x 2056
dbaez@ce.pr.gov

Rhode Island

Paula Szulc
Associate Commissioner for Student Success

RI Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner

560 Jefferson Blvd.

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886-1304

401.736.1100

Paula.Szulc@riopc.edu

 

South Carolina

Clay Barton

Licensing Program Coordinator
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300

Columbia, SC 29201

803.737.7781

Cbarton@che.sc.gov

State Website: click here

 

Peggy Simons

Program Coordinator

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300

Columbia, SC 29201

803.737.3476

psimons@che.sc.gov

 

South Dakota

Katie Hubbart
Academic Affairs Specialist
South Dakota SARA Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605.773.3455
Katie.Hubbart@sdbor.edu

Tennessee

Julie Woodruff

Assistant Executive Director and Lead Attorney for DPSA

Tennessee Higher Education Commission
404 James Robertson Parkway, Suite 1900
Nashville, TN 37243
615.253.8857
julie.woodruff@tn.gov

Texas

Jessica Acton
Program Director, Academic Quality and Workforce
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
P.O. Box 12788
Austin, TX 78711
512.427.6214
jessica.acton@thecb.state.tx.us

State Website http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/index.cfm?objectid=F8696420-1C09-11E8-BC500050560100A9

U.S. Virgin Islands

Camille McKayle

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 

University of the Virgin Islands 

#2 John Brewers Bay

St. Thomas, USVI  00802

340.693.1200

cmckayl@uvi.edu

Utah

Cynthia "Cyd" Grua
Office of the Commissioner for Higher Education
Utah System of Higher Education
Board of Regents Building, The Gateway
60 S 400 W
Salt Lake City, Utah  84111
801.321.7152
cgrua@ushe.edu

State Website  https://higheredutah.org/sara/

Vermont

Cassandra Ryan
School Finance Analyst
Vermont Agency of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05620
802.479.8545
Cassandra.Ryan@vermont.gov

Virginia

Darlene Derricott
Director of Academic Services
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804.225.2621
DarleneDerricott@schev.edu

State Website http://www.schev.edu/index/institutional/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreements-%28sara%29

Washington

Tivoli Sharp
Student Achievement Council
PO Box 43430
Olympia, WA 98504-3430
360.753.7869
tivolis@wsac.wa.gov

West Virginia

Mark Stotler
Director of Academic Programming
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
304.558.0262
mark.stotler@wvhepc.edu 

State Website http://www.wvhepc.edu/inside-the-commission/special-initiatives/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara/

Wisconsin

Monique Currie

Policy Advisor

Policy and Government Relations

Wisconsin Technical College System Office

4622 University Ave., PO Box 7874

Madison, WI 53707-7874

608.266.2449

Monique.Currie@wtcsystem.edu

State Website: http://www.heab.state.wi.us/dlab/

 

Wyoming

Larry Buchholtz
Fiscal Operations Team Manager
State of Wyoming
Wyoming Community College Commission
2300 Capitol Ave., 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307.777.7068

larry.buchholtz@wyo.gov